#RPGaDay2015 – Day 28: Favorite Game You No Longer Play

rpg-a-day-2015So it has come to this. Asking me about olden but golden favorites at #RPGaDay2015, and what game have I put behind me? Is there really anything, that I have liked, that I have put behind me to never return to it?

There are however things, I do not play any longer.

Day 28 – Favorite Game You No Longer Play

There is not really any game, I no longer play, as they all are games, that I yearn to return to.

It is tempting to say, that I don’t play D&D becmi or AD&D 1st edition any longer, and yet I have played them these lasts years. I haven’t played Toon or Paranoia in ages, but I still dream of playing them again, and Fading Suns, Blue Planet and TORG are moving steadily closer to being played again, but there also all the new games, that I want to try from FFG’s Star Wars to John Harper’s Blades in the Dark, which I backed.

So many games, so little time – and I keep returning to the old ones, both played and unplayed, and I keep trying new ones. But I don’t have favorite, that I have put behind me – but plenty of others, that have lost my interest. GURPS, Storyteller, Rolemaster, Shadowrun, Chill, D&D 3.5, D&D 4th, Amazing Engine and many others less known use systems and mechanics, that feel outdated, clunky or too cumbersome for me to play, and thus I leave ’em behind.

About Morten Greis

Historiker, etnolog, brygger, fægter, rollespiller, science fiction entusiast History and Ethnology, brewer and fencer, roleplayer and science fiction enthusiast View all posts by Morten Greis

Leave a Reply

