Playing the various D&D-versions – and which Spelljammer module to play?

For a long while we played in one of my groups the old D&D-modules (B-series) with the 4th ed. D&D rules. Then we skipped to playing the X-series with the good old basic D&D-rules, and right now we are about to finish X3 Curse of Xanathon. We have been talking about playing any more X-modules or perhaps a Companion or Master module, however we have been considering to do a shift for short while to AD&D 1st ed. to play I6 Castle Ravenloft. The purpose is in part to try the various versions of D&D, though we intend to skip 2nd and 3rd., and then either move on to 3,5 ed or Pathfinder – but now that has changed; Recently it was announced at The Alexandrian the arrival of Legends & Labyrinths, a stripped down version of 3rd edition, that is compatible with the 3rd ed. That is intriguing, and I am sorely tempted. I can get to keep using my old 3rd (3,5?) books, and at the same time I can get to avoid the mechanic heavy parts of 3rd ed., and yet still play it – at least if L&L keeps its promise.

Which Spelljammer module to play?

And so I am looking forward to L&L, and with a bit of luck, I’ll be running my old Spelljammer and Planescape modules using the rules system, but since I don’t intend to run all of my Spelljammer stuff – and since I got it all and never got to play it (yeah, I know, I am a collector by heart), I have no experience with it – so which one or two modules are the best Spelljammer-modules to play?
About Morten Greis

Historiker, etnolog, brygger, fægter, rollespiller, science fiction entusiast History and Ethnology, brewer and fencer, roleplayer and science fiction enthusiast View all posts by Morten Greis

Leave a Reply

